Home > Personal Biz > Wha Happa?

Wha Happa?

2010.08.03

So… if you follow me at all, you know that this spring, I sorta vanished.  As in, I was impossible to reach and all of my websites went dark.

Well, it’s like this.

In February, my Dad went into the hospital for what was to be the last time.  He had a rough time in his last few weeks, and I spend a lot of time at the hospital.  I had to cancel my plans to meet my friends Russell and David in France for the Jean-Michel Jarre tour and stay in Dallas to tend to him, and to organize a funeral.

While all this was going on, a team of Turkish hackers broke into my Windows box and hacked all of the websites that I host: ProRec.com, RipRowan.com, Pleasantrylane.com, WebCulture.net, and a few others.  It was an unmitigated disaster.

Fortunately, I learned my lessons from my last catastrophe, and I had a backup.  Or so I thought.  My backup device, which had been working, finally failed.  All of my backups were lost.  I still have the content (in the SQL databases) but the pages – they’re gone.

It never ends, does it?

In the meantime a had a bazillion personal responsibilities – including helping out on the new Old 97’s CD “The Grand Theater” – and traveling all over with Vanessa.  I’ve only recently settled temporarily in Austin for a bit so that I can catch up.

I am just now getting back to recovering the sites.  Brent Randall relaunched ProRec on a new hosting service, and we’re working on getting the old content migrated.  I’ve relaunched RipRowan.com here on WordPress.  PleasantryLane will come back soon, as will WebCulture.net.

Nevertheless, it still makes one consider a career in food or custodial services.

Categories: Personal Biz
